Yet Another Brilliant Visit To Hedgecourt Nature Reserve

On the way there we listened to the beautiful song of a Blackbird in the forest and saw a tiny Goldcrest hop about in the Birch. In the field a Green Woodpecker flew over our heads and towards a flock of 7 Carrion Crows. When we got to the lake I could see the Mute Swan family was on the shore feeding and the same Canada goose was preening itself. While we were walking to the end of the lake I heard the hum of wings above me and we saw 15 Canada Geese land on the lake. There was then a group of 9 Canada geese followed by another 15 and a flock of 23. As a surprise a group of 29 Greylag Geese then came to land on the lake. Before the was just 1 Canada Goose and now there are 100+ Geese to keep him company! When I finished my snack I went to look at a field of corn nearby to the lake when I saw a Speckled Wood butterfly next to the path and I got quite a few good photos.
DSCN2819
Speckled Wood Butterfly
DSCN2814
Mute Swan

Leave a Reply

