RSPB Big Garden Birdwatch 25-26 January 2014

Loads of people even at this moment are recording birds for the Big Garden Birdwatch, run by the RSPB. Citizens were asked to record the highest number of a species of bird in their garden for one hour, then send in their results on the RSPB’s website or on a paper form. The most interesting sighting of my hour was when a small flock of five Redpolls came and fed from my Goldfinch feeder. The most frequent time that Redpolls come to a garden feeding station like mine is when the damp and rainy conditions force the pine trees to close their cones, therefore prompting finches such as Siskins and Redpolls to come and feed on smaller seeds on our bird tables and in our feeders, such as the nyjer seeds in my Goldfinch feeder. I called my dad over for the Big Garden Birdwatch and I got a good video and he got a good photo. This is his photo:

Redpolls on the Goldfinch Feeder

Redpolls on the Goldfinch Feeder

I hope many of you will take part in the Big Garden Birdwatch and I will be delighted if you shared your results via comment.

Leave a Reply

