A New Sighting for Hedgecourt Lake

A leisurely trip down to Hedgecourt was turned into one of the most exciting visits ever, when my dad said he spotted a Mink run across the road away from the lake. That was something I really wanted to see because I’ve never seen a Mink before and one of my main interests is mammals. So I situated myself a few metres away from where the mink crossed the road and waited patiently for the Mink to reappear. I wasn’t certain that the Mink would cross over the road again, though luckily about ten minutes after my dad first spotted it, the Mink emerged from the shrubs that line the edge of the road. I watched it cross, though it was too quick for a photo. Once it had slipped into the water I decided to come a little closer and as I stepped onto one of the fishing pontoons, a cute weasel-like face emerged from the water. It was so startled that it immediately submerged and swam to the next pontoon. Upon reaching the pontoon it clambered into a hole in the stone wall that lined the bank of the river. After about ten minutes of waiting for it to poke its face out of the hole, it finally emerged and crossed the road again with a Signal Crayfish in its mouth. Signal Crayfish is one of the key species in a Mink’s diet, which is great because they are introduced too!
The species of Mink I saw there was almost certainly an American Mink for one very clear reason: they are the only species of Mink in Britain and the only other species of Mink in Europe is the European Mink of which the closest population is in Spain. American Mink were imported to Britain for use in fur farms, though in the 1950s and 60s they escaped and now breed in the wild. They don’t have such a good reputation in the British wildlife society as they kill Water Voles and many other native and introduced wildlife.
Today I tried to see one again, and I staked out the same place. I was doubtful that it would reveal itself again at the same spot because American Mink have home ranges or around 10 hectares, so that’s a lot of land to explore. Thankfully it did show again, though it wasn’t as exciting as the first time it appeared yesterday because it crossed at exactly the same point, went under the same pontoon, clambered into the same hole and caught another crayfish. But this time it was much more outgoing than yesterday, so I was able to get some ok photos:

Peekaboo!

Peekaboo!

Going for a swim

Going for a swim

Yum!

Yum!

 

Mink

Mink

Oh, Hello!

Oh, Hello!

I'm Coming Up...

I’m Coming Up…

 

Look Both Ways...

Look Both Ways…

And Cross!

And Cross!

 

 

One thought on “A New Sighting for Hedgecourt Lake

  1. I enjoyed reading about your latest sighting at Hedgecourt Lake, and the photos you were able to take of the Mink in action!

Leave a Reply

