Some interesting Blackbird behaviour

There has been some drama happening with our Blackbirds this year. Before exactly a month ago, we had a regular pair of Blackbirds that inhabited our garden and regularly visited the space under our feeders. We could tell this pair from the other Blackbirds as both were ringed earlier in the year. They had built a nest in the middle of March, which had 3 eggs in by the time I left on holiday to South Africa. When I returned the eggs should have been at the nestling stage, but the nest was empty.

On the 1st of May I noticed 4 male Blackbirds chasing each other around the garden pursued by a female. They disappeared out of view until a few hours later I spotted a male singing in the tallest Oak that I can see from my bedroom window, which leans over into our garden from our neighbour’s. It wasn’t ringed.

A few days later something I wasn’t expecting appeared below our feeders. A juvenile Blackbird. There was still no sign of the original pair, so this one must have been brought in by the currently dominant pair. But why only one? I think that as this is still quite early in the year, the parents might not have been able to find enough food for all 3 or 4 of their chicks, especially considering the strange weather we have been having. I will keep watching the Blackbirds to see if the ringed pair re-appear.

From what I have researched about Blackbird territories, I think that my garden must be quite a good habitat for them. The RSPB say that they are solitary birds, but “Small feeding and roosting aggregation sometimes form at good sites”. We have around six Blackbirds in our garden throughout the year and more in the winter when migrants from the mainland come in. There currently seem to be 3 pairs and therefore 3 territories in our garden, one in the front garden, one in the front half of our back garden and one at the back of our back garden. The size of these territories seems quite small for Blackbirds, so there must be good concentration of food. Inevitably, there have been squabbles from time to time.

I will continue to watch these Blackbirds. Who knows what interesting behaviour I could see next or will I locate the ringed pair?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

